I have been thinking a lot about my child’s education, pretty much ever since I found out I was pregnant. I am a graduate of the public education system while my husband is a graduate of parochial schooling. We both agreed that to us, sending our child to a public school will be a last resort. This is not to be disrespectful towards teachers in general, as there are quite a few excellent ones out there. This is strictly our own opinion and our personal decision for our children. We would like to send him to private school but with the economy being what it is, we don’t see that the tuition would be feasible to us, even in the future. We have a lot of debt we need to dig ourselves out from first. I haev been doing research as I wanted to know what age is appropriate to start schooling and to get an idea of what type of program I want to use. I found one that I have read about on a few sites and blogs and am starting to lean towards this program. I know that I have about a year and a half until I can start my child’s education, but I feel this is not a decision that should be taken lightly or put off until right before he can start being educated. I want to make sure that i have as much information as possible and that I can do the best with the homeschooling as I can so his education will not suffer in any way.

The more research that I do, the more I am set on going the homeschool route. I like that it seems that the parents are so much more involved and hands on with their children’s education and I like that the children seem to excel at their studies more than in a normal classroom setting. I especially like that a child is not limited to remaining at the grade level their age suggests they should be at. For example, say my son does very well at reading in the first grade and actually reads at a 3rd grade level, but he is still in first grade math. I can tailor his studies to that so that he doesn’t become bored with reading or reads at a level much below what he is capable of handling but that his math will also be at a level where he is capable of handling. I really feel that homeschooling will allow us the flexibility to tailor his education around his needs and his learning style and that he will do far better in this scenario.

The course I have been researching is Sonlight curriculum and I do like that it is a faith based program. I think this will allow us to bring in some of our religion to the studies as well as all of the other basic curriculum. I ordered one of the books that they use for children from 3-4 years old, and it is an accumulation of various children’s books. Many of the books included are books that I read and really enjoyed as a child. I look forward to reading these stories with my son as we test the waters of homeschooling. I am planning to buy the workbook that goes with it, andthe instructions do state that this course is not intended to teach the child at this point, but to get them used to books and more of a way to get a child interested. They have activities they suggest doing with the child while reading the stories, and I think if nothing else, the workbook will give us some ideas of things that we can do besides just plain read.

 

